top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMark Donnelly-Orr

TransAtlanticWay 2019 - Seventh Preparation - Crit Racing

Updated: Mar 14, 2020

After a week of gallivanting in Ireland, I was back in London and looking to commence the final tune up for the TAW, which was only 2-months away. There is a local cycle circuit in Hillingdon near our place of work and handily, a race series had started once I had gotten back. So I obtained a race license and started racing there every week with Jack. The races were short, at one hour, but were perfect training for us as they were flat out. I was moderately successful with a third place and win (both from breakaways as is my preference) to my name in the 4th category before being promoted to 3rd category, where I proceeded to chase breakaway glory to no avail. But it was brilliant training. I had also started doing turbo sessions at home whenever the opportunity availed itself. Never anything too regimented, just getting in as many kilometres as felt good for my body. Jack and I had decided that we wouldn’t do anymore long training rides, just short intense sessions. In addition to the racing and turbo sessions, I was doing numerous yoga sessions, which I considered to be a vital part of training, given the strain we’d be putting on our bodies, not just our legs. I had been doing weekly yoga at work, but unfortunately this was on the same night as the races (classic), so I found a local Bikram (HOT!) yoga studio and proceeded to do as many sessions again to prep my body. I didn’t think it would be helping me to acclimatise to the wet and cold coast of Ireland somehow…








28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page